rethinking art


new business card

Its been a while since I posted a blog.

In the last month or so I have been doing a lot of planning and rethinking of my art and photography styles. As far as photography goes, I am working on learning several new styles. Much of those have to do with off camera lighting and changing the message that my photography tells. I am more than tired of taking the “normal” photographs. I won’t go too far into what I mean by that, except to say that you should all expect to see many new photographs from me with a style differing far from what you are used to seeing from me.

Another thing I have been thinking about is my graphic design for print and for the web. It has been sometime since I took time to learn coding and web programming, but it is about time I get back into it. The game has changed much now since I first learned web design.

My first order of business in this realm is to redesign my blog here, which started as a social experiment for a class, into the main hub for everything you need to know about me. This simple layout change was a small deviation from the image I wanted my design to have last year, but it is the first step in many on my move into a more professional and artistic style of my art.

There are many more things on this list but those are a few of the first things.

What is my inspiration for this change? Light.

If any of you read my Facebook status a few days back, it spoke about light and how that light is the catalyst in how we perceive visual art. I want to learn to control light in its simplest of forms and use that tool to my advantage. I want the light that we all see to be the single and most important factor that separates my work from the next persons.

What does that mean for me? It means that many exciting things are on the horizon for me and it is time I begin to walk into those things, because now is the time for me to step into this direction that God is bringing me to.

What does this mean for everyone else? Just be excited, and stay tuned for what is ahead.

– PMH

Leave a Reply

